write contest compressedEach year the Shawnee Playhouse encourages local playwrights to submit their original and unpublished works for a chance to win our annual Shawnee Original Playwright Series contest.

This spring, each submission was read by volunteer actors over several weeks. The public was invited to listen to the readings of the original plays and had a chance to vote and comment on each work. When our Executive Committee reviewed the ratings, the tabulations revealed that three plays scored closely, so it was decided all three full length winners as well as the six short play winners would be produced and performed by Worthington Players in 2016. Congratulations to the winning playwrights! Below are the selected plays.


Full-Length Winners:

 The Two Georgias
A dramedy by Brian McDermott

On stage January 22 through February 7, 2016

Home Shopping
A comedy by Lisa Ellex

On stage September 23 through October 16, 2016

Scary Scary Night
A comedy by E. Michael Lumsford

On stage October 21 through October 30, 2016

Short Play Winners:

The Bureaucracy of Existentialism
By Elizabeth Kennedy

Errant Souls
By Robert S. Robbin

Absolution Green
By Paul Kodiak

The Birthday Room
By Rich Strack

Angel on the Yellow Couch
by K.K.Gordon

The Counterfeit Dick
by Zanne Hall

All six short plays will be staged together January 2 -17, 2016.


Add comment

Security code